Author Topic: Referees bound for China  (Read 1524 times)

Offline David

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4229
    • View Profile
Referees bound for China
« on: April 04, 2007, 10:48:11 AM »
Six European referees and eleven assistant referees were named in FIFA's list of 51 prospective women match officials for September's FIFA Women's World Cup in China.

Based on assessments
The FIFA Referees' Committee, chaired by FIFA and UEFA vice-president Ángel María Villar Llona, drew up the list based on assessments carried out at the 2005-2007 Algarve Cups, 2006 FIFA U-20 Women's World Cup and a selection course held on the Canary Islands in January. The European referees are Christine Beck (Germany), Dagmar Damkova (Czech Republic), Anna Detoni (Italy), Gyöngyi Gaál (Hungary), Jenny Palmqvist (Sweden) and Nicole Petignat (Switzerland).

The assistants from this continent are Susanne Borg (Sweden), Cristina Cini (Italy), Miriam Draeger (Germany), Corinne Lagrange and Karine Vives Solana (both France), Irina Mirt (Romania), Inka Müller (Germany), Yolanda Parga Rodríguez and Maria Luisa Villa Gutiérrez (both Spain), Romina Santuari (Italy), Hege Steinlund (Norway).

May course
The 51 candidates will meet at FIFA headquarters in Zurich from 7-11 May for a final selection course before the definitive list is published. FIFA said that following the example of their male counterparts in the run-up to the 2006 FIFA World Cup, the female officials will complete an intensive programme to prepare them for the biggest event in women's football, which takes place every four years.

Training and theory
The objective of this initiative is to ensure that the match officials are in the best possible condition, which will in turn help to improve the quality of their performances. The officials will take part in practical training sessions, and be asked to take theory tests on the Laws of the Game as well as physical examinations and an English language test. The Women's World Cup will take place in Chengdu, Hangzhou, Shanghai, Tianjin and Wuhan from 10-30 September.