Author Topic: Netherlands to stage Olympic qualifiers  (Read 2769 times)

Offline sylvain

  • Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 485
    • View Profile
Netherlands to stage Olympic qualifiers
« on: August 26, 2015, 11:22:49 AM »
The Netherlands will host a mini-tournament also involving Norway, Sweden and Switzerland in March to decide UEFA's third qualifiers for the 2016 women's Olympic competition in Brazil.

UEFA has three slots in the event, which were decided by performances at the FIFA Women's World Cup in Canada. Fourth-placed Germany and quarter-finalists France booked their Brazil campaigns but the best World Cup performers, bronze-medallists England, do not enter Olympic football.

Therefore the four UEFA nations eliminated in the World Cup round of 16 will play off for the remaining berth, each team meeting each other once on 2, 5 and 9 March. UEFA has appointed UEFA Women's EURO 2017 hosts Netherlands to stage the Olympic qualifiers, with exact venues to be confirmed by the Royal Dutch Football Association (KNVB) at a later date.


Wednesday 2 March: Norway v Sweden, Switzerland v Netherlands
Saturday 5 March: Norway v Netherlands, Sweden v Switzerland
Wednesday 9 March: Switzerland v Norway, Netherlands v Sweden

Competition facts

• Norway were Europe's only Olympic gold medallists in 2000 (no other UEFA nation has played in the final) and took bronze in the inaugural 1996 event.

• Sweden lost 1-0 to Germany in the bronze-medal play-off in 2004.

• Neither the Netherlands nor Switzerland have played in the women's Olympic tournament; both made their World Cup finals debuts this year.

• Sweden have already qualified for the men's event via the 2015 UEFA European Under-21 Championship.

• All these nations have won men's Olympic football medals but only Sweden, in 1948, have taken gold.

• Norway, Sweden and Switzerland will all be playing in UEFA Women's EURO 2017 qualifying from September: full fixture list.

2016 Olympic qualifiers

Brazil (hosts), Colombia, France, Germany + 8 tbc (2 AFC, 2 CAF, 2 CONCACAF, 1 OFC, 1 UEFA)

• Matches in Brazil will be played from 3 to 19 August 2016.

Past Olympic medallists

2012: United States (gold), Japan (silver), Canada (bronze); London, United Kingdom
2008: United States (gold), Brazil (silver), Germany (bronze); Beijing, China
2004: United States (gold), Brazil (silver), Germany (bronze); Athens, Greece
2000: Norway (gold), United States (silver), Germany (bronze); Sydney, Australia
1996: United States (gold), China (silver), Norway (bronze); Atlanta, United States