Author Topic: Norway Under-19 2015  (Read 16594 times)

Offline Alan

• View Profile
England-Norway on Saturday
« Reply #20 on: January 23, 2015, 10:01:25 AM »
The Under-19s are in England and will play England on Saturday.

2015 opens with a friendly at St Georges Park on Saturday afternoon.  The team has been in Oslo for indoor training at Vallhall  "It's been a very good week and we have worked on and off the pitch", said trainer Nils Lexerød who has taken over the team from Jarl Torske.  "This is not entirely new to me because I was at two meetings in the autumn, but this is my first time in charge.  I got a very good impression of the players and the support team when I met them and this has just become stronger his last week".

One of Lexerød's training team is Cecilie Berg-Hansen.  In Oslo the squad set themselves four goals.  "The first was that the players and support team should get to know each other better, and I feel we have done that.  There are players in the squad that Cecilie and I didn't know from before.  Now we know what they can do", said the trainer.

"Then we needed to establish our status and decide how we are to reach our goals.  I feel we have done a lot towards that and have laid down a good plan.  The third is that we must develop our playing style.  We had good training sessions on Monday and Tuesday, and we saw a lot of what we had worked on when we played a training match among ourselves on Wednesday.  At that point we were ahead of where we thought we would be", he said.

Goal number four is to beat England.  "We will meet a good English team who were in Norway last year, largely as 17- and 18-year-olds, at the European Cup finals, so I am expecting that much of the same team will face us again on Saturday.  We have some experienced players with us but also some that have not played at this level before and are at their first international match.  The match will give us good data on where we stand", said Lexerød.