Author Topic: Costa Rica confirmed as hosts  (Read 9630 times)


  • Guest
Costa Rica confirmed as hosts
« on: July 05, 2013, 02:55:58 PM »
Following a new series of pledges made to FIFA by the Costa Rican government and confirmed by a CONCACAF report, the 2014 FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup will take place in the Central American country after all.

The news was confirmed by the FIFA Executive Committee in Zurich on Thursday 21 March and reverses the decision taken by FIFA on 28 February, when it announced that the competition would have to be relocated due to “a number of unforeseen circumstances leading to heavy stadium construction delays”.

The news was received with great satisfaction in Costa Rica, which will now press on with preparations for this the fourth staging of the competition, scheduled to take place on 14 March-15 April 2014.

Click on the link on the right to read the FIFA Executive Committee’s decision statement, published on 21 March 2013.

The tournament schedule :


The top three teams at the AFC U-16 Women’s Championship, to be played in Nanjing, China PR, between 26 September and 6 October 2013, will represent Asia at Costa Rica 2014.

The first round will take place between 21 and 23 June 2013, with two-legged home and away ties being played in each round. The final phase, which will decide Africa’s three representatives at Costa Rica 2014, will be staged between 22 and 24 November.

England will host the finals of the UEFA European Women’s Under-17 Championship between 26 November and 8 December, with a total of three teams advancing to Costa Rica 2014.

Eight teams will compete for two CONCACAF places alongside hosts Costa Rica at the FIFA U-17 Women's World Cup from 30 October to 9 November in Jamaica.

The OFC U-17 Women’s Championship will take place from 12-26 October 2013 in New Zealand. Only the winners will qualify for Costa Rica 2014.

Ten teams will compete for three tickets to the world finals at the Torneo Sudamericano Femeninoin Paraguay from 7-25 August 2013.

Host Country
As hosts, Costa Rica will qualify automatically. Two other nations will book places to the world finals via the continental qualifiers.

And the important note :

In addition to the above provision, each Participating Member Association shall ensure that all players of its representative team were born on or after 1 January 1997.