Author Topic: Africa: Women's World Cup to Follow 2010 Fifa World Cup South Africa  (Read 1323 times)

Offline David

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4229
    • View Profile
Hot on the heels of the 2010 Fifa World Cup South Africa, the world will be treated to another international soccer spectacle, this time with female soccer champs competing for the greatest prize their sport has to offer.

The Fifa Women's World Cup 2011 will be the sixth time that this tournament has been staged.

"The football associations of Australia, Canada, France, Germany, Peru and Switzerland are the six Fifa members who formally expressed an interest in organising the Fifa Women's World Cup in 2011 by the 1 March 2007 deadline," Fifa said on its official website.

The first step on the way to hosting Fifa's premier women's football competition was to submit an official declaration of interest form to the world football governing body.

The six associations will each receive an "Organising Association Agreement" and the list of requirements for the competition.

The six potential host nations now have until 3 May 2007 to send Fifa the "Form of Bidding Agreement" and until 1 August 2007 to submit their definitive bid, which must include the signed "Organising Association Agreement" and the bid dossier.

"The host country will be decided by the Fifa Executive Committee on 31 August 2007," Fifa said.

However, for those who cannot wait until 2011 to watch international women's football of the highest caliber, the good news is that 2007 is also a World Cup year in women's football.

The fifth Fifa Women's World Cup 2007 will take place in China from 10 to 30 September.

"It is fitting that China, the hosts for the inaugural 1991 Fifa Women's World Cup, have been chosen to the stage the event once again in 2007.

"The next edition of the major women's tournament is to be staged in five cities across East Asia's largest country, where the origins of the game have been dated back to the second century," said Fifa.
The games in this year's tournament will be played in Chengdu, Hangzhou, Shanghai, Tianjin and Wuhan.

Since hosting the first edition of Fifa Women's World Cup in 1991, China has been a competitive power in all of the past three tournaments in 1995, 1999 and 2003.

"The second place finish at 1999 USA marked the pinnacle of their past results but the 2003 tournament saw an aging team fail to progress to last four following a 1-0 quarter-final defeat to Canada," the world football governing body said.