Author Topic: Women's Senior Squad to face Olympic Champions  (Read 3890 times)


  • Guest
Women's Senior Squad to face Olympic Champions
« on: November 11, 2012, 03:22:28 PM »
Republic of Ireland Women's Senior International manager Sue Ronan has named an 18 strong squad to travel to America on November 25 to play Olympic champions USA in two friendly fixtures as part of the USA Women's Fans Tribute Tour.

The squad is a mixture of youth and experience and features five players with less than ten caps as well as four with over 45 caps. Goalkeeper Emma Byrne is the squad's most experienced player with 91 caps while Raheny United midfielder Ciara Grant has yet to play for the senior side.
Uncapped Grant was part of the Republic of Ireland U17 team which reached the FIFA U17 World Cup quarter-finals in 2010 and finished runners-up to Spain in the European U17 Championships the same year.
She is one of five players in the squad who play for clubs in the Bus Eireann National Women's League and another is current U19 international team captain Denise O'Sullivan of Cork Women's FC.

Speaking today, Ronan said: "This trip presents a fantastic opportunity for the squad. It's not often that you get to go up against the world number one seeds, but it's an experience that each player will relish. The players are not fazed by their opposition one bit, and I'm confident that they can pull together and give two strong performances.'
"Obviously we were disappointed with how we finished in our Euro 2013 qualifying group. I don't think second place was very far from our reach. However, with the World Cup Campaign just around the corner I'm confident that we can re-group and strive towards qualification. These two games are ideal opportunities for the players to pick up experience against some top class opponents."
The squad will join up in Dublin on November 25 to travel to the USA. They will play their first fixture in JELD-WEN Field Portland on Wednesday, November 28, at 7pm (local time), with their second game taking place in University of Phoenix Stadium, Glendale on Saturday, December 1, at 7.30pm (local time).
Republic of Ireland Squad: Emma Byrne (Arsenal), Eve Badana (Drexel College), Yvonne Tracy (Arsenal), Louise Quinn (Peamount United), Megan Campbell (Raheny United), Sophie Perry (Chelsea), Mary Therese McDonnell (Chicago Red Stars), Meabh de Burca (Amazon Grimstad), Shannon McDonnell (Unattached), Diane Caldwell (Avaldsnes), Niamh Fahey (Arsenal), Ciara Grant (Raheny United), Julie Ann Russell (Peamount United), Aine O'Gorman (Doncaster Belles), Ruesha Littlejohn (Glasgow City), Shannon Smyth (Amazon Grimstad), Fiona O'Sullivan (SC Freiburg), Denise O'Sullivan (Cork Women's FC).