Author Topic: Irish women's squad named  (Read 1714 times)

Offline David

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4229
    • View Profile
Irish women's squad named
« on: February 28, 2007, 11:58:38 AM »
Republic of Ireland of Ireland senior women's manager, Noel King has today announced a 20 - strong squad to compete in this year's invitational Algarve Cup.

Returning to the squad is Arsenal defender, Yvonne Treacy who missed last year's World Cup qualifying campaign through injury.

This year, 12 teams will meet in the Algarve region of Portugal between March 7 and 14th. The teams are divided into three groups.

Group A
Germany, Norway, France, Denmark

Group B
USA, China, Finland, Sweden

Group C
Portugal, Ireland, Italy, Iceland

Republic of Ireland manager, Noel King may have one eye on the UEFA European Championships qualifiers which begin on 1st April, 2007 as his side face Hungary in Richmond Park, "This year's Algarve tournament could not have come at a better time for our side, the girls will be competing against the best sides in the world at the Algarve Cup and I hope to keep the momentum gained for the UEFA qualifiers which begin in April."

King added, "The Algarve Cup is one of the world's most prestigious events in women's football, after the Women's World Cup and Women's Olympic Football, and I have no doubt that we will be taking this competition very serious and I hope to use all 20 players in the squad with a view to key preparation for the UEFA Championships."


Wednesday 7th March:
Portugal V Ireland
Estadio Municipal - Lagos, Kick-off: 15.30 Hrs (Local Time)           

Friday 9th March:
Ireland V Iceland
Estadio Municipal - Lagos, Kick-Off: 18.00 Hrs (local time)     

Monday 12th March:
Ireland V Italy
Estadio Dr.Francisco Vieira - Silves, Kick-off: 15.30 Hrs (local time)                     

Tuesday 13th /Wednesday 14th March

Republic of Ireland Squad
Emma Byrne (Arsenal FC)
Sarah Peters (Michigan Phoenix)
Yvonne Tracy (Arsenal FC)
Sharon Boyle (Raheny United)
Sonya Hughes (New Hampshire Franklin Pierce)
Ciara Grant (Arsenal FC)
Elaine O'Connor (Long Island Lady Riders)
Michele O'Brien (Long Island Lady Riders)
Claire Scanlan (Bristol Academy FC)
Denise Thomas (Boston Renegades)
Laura Hislop (New Hampshire Phantoms)
Alisha Moran (New York Athletic Club)
Olivia O'Toole (Raheny)
Marie Curtin (Hofstra University)
Diane Caldwell (Hofstra University)
Aine O'Gorman (Stella Maris)
Noelle Murray (Raheny)
Niamh Fahey (Salthill Devon)
Susan Byrne (St.Johns College)
Stephanie Curtis (Bristol Rovers)