Author Topic: Lady Eagles Announce 2008 Schedule  (Read 704 times)

Offline David

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4229
    • View Profile
Lady Eagles Announce 2008 Schedule
« on: June 03, 2008, 08:35:20 PM »
One for Becky  :)

JEFFERSON CITY, Tenn. - The Carson-Newman women's soccer team will travel to Denver, Colo. to face two-time national champion Metro State as part of their 2008 schedule, Lady Eagle Head Coach Phillip McNamara announced Tuesday. Carson-Newman will also face each of the other five NCAA Southeast Regional participants from a season ago, including four in Jefferson City.

"This is without question the strongest schedule we have ever played," McNamara said. "We could play as many eight ranked D-II teams, as well as two of the top NAIA programs in the nation in King College and Lee University, who was ranked No. 1 last season. Our goal is to challenge our players and prepare for South Atlantic Conference and NCAA Tournament play. There might be a few hard learning curves along the way, but this is a schedule that will make us a better team. The NCAA has rewarded our program in the past for our strength of schedule and we want that trend to continue."

C-N will host an exhibition match with Tennessee Tech on Aug. 19 at McCown Field. Its season opener comes 12 days later, on Aug. 31, at home against Chowan.

The Lady Eagles will travel to Charlotte, N.C. to face Queens University in their road opener on Sept. 5. The Royals were the region's No. 6-seed in last year's NCAA Tournament.
The Peach Belt's Armstrong Atlantic State comes to Jefferson City for a night game on Friday Sept. 12, followed by a visit from Columbus State on Sept. 14. Both teams hosted in last year's NCAA Southeast Regional.

McNamara's squad will open SAC play on Sept. 20 with a trip to Hickory, N.C. to face Lenoir-Rhyne. The Lady Eagles will open their trip to Denver on Sept. 26 with a match against Regis University. Two days later, C-N will face Metro State, who won national titles in 2004 and 2006.

Carson-Newman will play six of its final nine regular-season matches at home, including five in SAC play.

Rivals Tusculum and Lincoln Memorial, both joined C-N in the NCAA Tournament year ago, will visit Jefferson City in the fall. The Lady Eagles will host the Pioneers on Oct. 1, while C-N hosts LMU on Oct. 22.
 
C-N's South Atlantic Conference and regular-season finale is Nov. 1 at home against Newberry.

The Lady Eagles will look to turn one of the nation's toughest schedules into a sixth straight NCAA Tournament bid.

2008 Carson-Newman Women's Soccer Schedule   
Tuesday, August 19, 2008   vs. Tennessee Tech (Exh.)   7:30 p.m. ET
Sunday, August 31, 2008   vs. Chowan   1:00 p.m. ET
Friday, September 05, 2008   at Queens (N.C.)   8:00 p.m. ET
Sunday, September 07, 2008   at Pfeiffer   1:00 p.m. ET
Friday, September 12, 2008   vs. Armstrong Atlantic   7:30 p.m. ET
Sunday, September 14, 2008   vs. Columbus St.   1:00 p.m. ET
Wednesday, September 17, 2008   at King   5:00 p.m. ET
Saturday, September 20, 2008   at Lenoir-Rhyne *   7:30 p.m. ET
Friday, September 26, 2008   at Regis College   4:00 p.m. ET
Sunday, September 28, 2008   at Metro State   1:30 p.m. ET
Wednesday, October 01, 2008   vs. Tusculum *   8:00 p.m. ET
Saturday, October 04, 2008   vs. Mars Hill *   7:30 p.m. ET
Saturday, October 11, 2008   at Catawba *   3:00 p.m. ET
Tuesday, October 14, 2008   vs. Concord   6:00 p.m. ET
Thursday, October 16, 2008   at Wingate *   7:00 p.m. ET
Wednesday, October 22, 2008   vs. Lincoln Memorial *   7:30 p.m. ET
Friday, October 24, 2008   at Lee   7:00 p.m. ET
Wednesday, October 29, 2008   vs. Brevard *   7:30 p.m. ET
Saturday, November 01, 2008   vs. Newberry *   6:00 p.m. ET
Tuesday, November 04, 2008   SAC Tourney First Round   TBA
Friday, November 07, 2008   SAC Tourney Semi-Finals   TBA
Sunday, November 09, 2008   SAC Tourney Finals   TBA
Friday, November 14, 2008   NCAA First Round   TBA
Sunday, November 16, 2008   NCAA Second Round   TBA
* Denotes SAC Game

http://www.cstv.com/sports/w-soccer/stories/060308aai.html