Author Topic: Rebecca Smith and Abby Erceg win NZ awards  (Read 747 times)

Offline David

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4229
    • View Profile
Rebecca Smith and Abby Erceg win NZ awards
« on: November 19, 2007, 10:39:54 PM »
The dream run of All White striker Shane Smeltz in 2007 has continued as he last night walked away from the annual New Zealand Football Awards Dinner as the Men's Player of the Year.
The Wellington Phoenix forward is in hot goal scoring form, sitting near the top of the A-League golden boot standings and firing four goals in his last three All Whites matches, including the equaliser in New Zealand's come from behind win in Vanuatu on Saturday.
There will be little time to celebrate for Smeltz - who has recovered from the corked thigh he picked up in Port Vila - as the All Whites are in camp preparing to take on Vanuatu in Wellington tomorrow night.
Fellow All Whites Ben Sigmund was named NZFC Player of the Year, Jacob Spoonley (Young Player of the Year) and Ricki Herbert Coach of the Year.
Strong performances at the FIFA Women's World Cup saw Sweden based Football Ferns captain Rebecca Smith - also a nominee for FIFA's World Women's Player - named as Women's Player of the Year, while her World Cup team mate and double nominee Abby Erceg won Young Women's Player of the Year.
Team of the Year went to Waitakere United whose 2006-07 season finished with both the Oceania Champions League title and the NZFC Minor Premiership.

Offline Alan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14559
    • View Profile
Re: Rebecca Smith and Abby Erceg win NZ awards
« Reply #1 on: November 19, 2007, 10:54:56 PM »
Congrats to Rebecca Smith and Abby Erceg who both looked pretty useful when they were on TV in the World Cup.
Rebecca Smith plays in the Damallsvenskan for Sunnanå, right up in the north of Sweden at Skellefteå, on the same team as Sweden's Hanna Marklund.

Alltid. Uansett.