Author Topic: Germany and Canada bid to host FIFA Women's World Cup 2011 - Peru withdraws  (Read 1223 times)

Offline David

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4229
    • View Profile
With less than two weeks to go until the designation of the host country of the FIFA Women's World Cup 2011, two member associations - Germany and Canada - are in the running to stage the sixth edition of the flagship competition in women's football.

The Peruvian football association yesterday informed FIFA of its withdrawal from the bidding procedure.

The two candidates will present their bids to the members of the FIFA Executive Committee at FIFA headquarters on Monday, 29 October.

The following day, Tuesday, 30 October, the FIFA Executive Committee will decide which country will host the tournament. The successful bidder will be announced at a media conference at FIFA headquarters at 14.00h on the same day. The host country of the 2014 FIFA World Cup™ will also be revealed at the same event.