Author Topic: More honours for the Matildas  (Read 932 times)

Offline David

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4229
    • View Profile
More honours for the Matildas
« on: October 02, 2007, 07:06:43 AM »
The accolades keep coming for the Matildas, with three Australian players short-listed for the 2007 Asian Football Confederation player of the year award.

Captain Cheryl Salisbury and midfield duo Heather Garriock and Collette McCallum have all been nominated following Australia's breakthrough quarter-final run at the Women's World Cup in China.

All three got on the scoresheet during the tournament and featured in each of the Matildas' four matches.

The honour comes a day after Australian striker Lisa De Vanna was named in governing body FIFA's All-Star team from the World Cup.

De Vanna and Garriock are also vying for the goal-of-the-tournament award.

"The nomination of Cheryl, Heather and Collette for AFC Women's Player of the Year is further deserved recognition for the Matildas following the team's inspirational performances at the Women's World Cup," Football Federation Australia chief executive Ben Buckley said.

"The recent acclaim received by the Matildas is further evidence of the team's impact on the world stage and shows how far the team has progressed in the last few years under coach Tom Sermanni.

"The Matildas' success in China last month was an inspiration to all young footballers, both male and female."

Defender Salisbury, playing in her fourth World Cup, scored the dramatic injury-time equaliser against Canada which ensured the Matildas progression to the knockout stage.

Perth-based McCallum scored with a stunning free kick earlier in the same match, while Garriock's header against Ghana was the one ranked by amongst the tournament's top ten goals.

The AFC Women's Player of the Year award will go to the most outstanding women's player who performed consistently at AFC and/or FIFA competitions, with the final three nominees to be announced later this month.

This year's winner will be announced at the inaugural AFC Women's Awards on November 6 in Kuala Lumpur.

AFC Women's Player of the Year Nominees: Miho Fukumoto (Japan), Heather Garriock (Australia), Xiaoxu Ma (China), Collette McCallum (Australia), Shinobu Ohno (Japan), Kum Suk Ri (Korea), Un Suk Ri (Korea), Cheryl Salisbury (Australia), Homare Sawa (Japan), Caixia Xie (China PR).